Small Urban Program

The Small Urban Program offers essential federal funding through the Surface Transportation Program to communities with populations ranging from 5,000 to 49,999.

This program supports both road and transit capital projects, ensuring that vital infrastructure developments are accessible to smaller urban centers.  Approved projects under this program must be within the federal-aid highway system and the federal urban area boundary. 

  • Dowagiac Area Small Urban Area (Including the City of Dowagiac, Dowagiac Dial A Ride, and portions of Silver Creek, Wayne, Pokagon, and LaGrange Townships)
  • Coloma/Watervliet/Hartford Small Urban Area (Including Cities of Coloma, Watervliet, and Hartford, Van Buren Public Transit, Berrien Bus, and portions of Hartford Township, Coloma Township, and Watervliet Township).
  • Berrien Springs Small Urban Area (Including the Villages of Berrien Springs, Eau Claire, Berrien Bus, and portions of Berrien Township and Oronoko Charter Township).
  • South Haven Small Urban Area (Including the City of South Haven, Casco Township, and South Haven Township, along with Van Buren County Public Transit and Allegan County Public Transit.)
  • Buchanan Small Urban Area (Including the City of Buchanan, Buchanan Township, Niles Charter Township, Berrien Bus and Niles Dial a Ride )
 Programmed Projects By Year
Meeting Information